MotoGP – Vinales tops Day Two at Phillip Island

9e32a962-5aea-45bf-9804-5747ba3c7ebbSuzuki’s Maverick Viñales laid down the gauntlet and underlined his talent after topping topped the MotoGP™ test times on the second day of testing at Phillip Island.

The young Spaniard was the first rider under the 1’30 barrier in the afternoon and with the track getting more-and-more grippy with the sun out he swapped the lead many times before finally securing the top of the time sheets with an  excellent lap of 1:29.131 – nearly half a second faster than his best in last year’s race.

Viñales, who completed 79 laps, said: “Today I felt very good with my GSX-RR, confirming the positive feeling I had already yesterday even though it was in mixed conditions.

“Today we worked well in two ways; the first is the fastest lap, which gave me the first place, and the second is the approach we had with the development, improving little-by-little but consistently in every run, applying little improvements to the machine without any major change. This consistency gave me not only the fastest lap but also a very comfortable feeling with the pace.

“Of course the track was a contribution, let’s say. Here in Phillip Island I feel always confident, I like the track and I can express myself as I want, in any conditions. I’m happy to see that the machine is supporting me in this enjoyment, allowing me to be so competitive, I’m improving a lot in my capability to transfer my feelings to the team and they on their side are doing a great job supporting me and giving me good solutions for what I ask for. It’s a learning process for all of us and today’s result gives us an injection of enthusiasm.”

Leave a Reply

