MotoGP – Stoner returns to the track as Ducati Team test rider

9-OK_TSTMAL-00348.JPG

Casey Stoner has completed his first laps for Ducati after his sensational return to the Italian manufacturer last year.

The Australian, a two-time MotoGP champion, completed 54 laps of at Sepang on the 2015 Ducati Desmosedici GP for the Italian factory team ahead of next week’s official MotoGP test – the first time Stoner has ridden a Ducati since the Valencia round in 2010, when he left the team to ride for the HRC Repsol squad.

Stoner was pleased with his pace, and how quickly he had got up to speed with the new spec Michelin tyres. He said: “It’s been a really good experience today with the Ducati Team. I wasn’t too sure what to expect but everybody has been fantastic, welcoming me and working with me to try and get the best out of myself and this bike.

“I need some time to get back to speed and get the feeling back, because I haven’t ridden a MotoGP bike for one year and any bike at all for six months. It was a very productive first day, we got comfortable with the bike and the tyres a lot more quickly than I thought I would. We’ve got a lot of things to test and get myself a little bit more acquainted with the bike but generally I’m very happy.

“The Desmosedici GP has a lot of potential, hopefully we can give the right input and help the two Andreas to try and achieve something great this year.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

