Racing – Stalker to switch to sidecars

160107DR_098

Fans’ favourite Chris ‘Stalker’ Walker will be back in the MCE British Superbike paddock this season – on three wheels.

The BSB runner-up and WSBK race winner had been hopeful of landing a BSB ride but has instead announced he will be joining the Hyundai Heavy Industries British Sidecar Championship in association with Molson.

Walker, who owns and runs thew Kawasaki dealership in Grantham,  will make his racing debut in the Championship at Oulton Park in May with the experienced Santander Salt Kawasaki team.

He said: “I am really excited by this completely new challenge, especially as the British Sidecar Championship is going from strength to strength. I have no knowledge of it so I am full of anticipation, although I have to say it is still a bit daunting.

“I guess the last time I had that kind of feeling of the complete unknown was my first Superbike race in 1995; Hizzy was out injured and I got called up to replace him. I was up against the big hitters of BSB and the night before I was like a six year-old at Christmas; I think that was the last time I really experienced such a dramatic change. Even switching from motocross to road racing didn’t feel as big as I had been riding road bikes.

“I really don’t know what to expect and that is what I think excites me the most. The sidecar is completely different to a superbike in terms of the gearing and braking so I am sure that will be something for me to get my head around, but the biggest draw for me is the new challenge.”

Leave a Reply

