MotoGP – how to solve a problem like Jack Miller

IMG_2502 IMG_2503 IMG_2504 IMG_2505

Jackass Jack Miller lived up to his nickname in spectacular fashion at the British Grand Prix after crashing out and wiping out teammate Cal Crutchlow.

Miller made a superb start in the treacherous wet conditions at Silverstone and having departed the grid in 16th position, the LCR Honda rider stormed through the field and had fought his way up to fourth spot on lap three.

After swapping places several times with home rider and fellow LCR Honda rider Cal Crutchlow, Miller made a late lunge from too far back with no chance of making the apex, losing the front on the brakes and torpedoing Crutchlow into the gravel. Both riders slid out, and although they remounted, were unable to finish the race.

A clearly disappointed and frustrated Crutchlow said: “Obviously I’m really disappointed, we could have done a great race today, I thought I had the pace to be with the winner. I felt really comfortable this morning in the rain and I felt really comfortable in the race, but these things happen. Jack is young, he was near to the front in a MotoGP race and made an ambitious move. He made a mistake, he apologised and I have accepted his apology. I’ve done it before and I’m sure I will do it again – this is racing, but obviously I was very disappointed.

“I came in and we changed the bike, but as soon as I went out of the pitlane I crashed immediately because it was a dry setting on that bike and there is a big, big difference. I was not really going to carry on too much as I was too far behind the leader at that point, but it was a good job by the LCR Honda team this weekend and I really appreciate all the fan support as they really helped us.”

Rookie Miller’s misdemeanour is the latest in a long series of mistakes that have plagued his debut season, leading many to question his ability and attitude after making the jump from Moto3 to MotoGP. Nicky Hayden, Hector Barbera and Eugene Laverty have all publicly aired their concerns about Miller’s reckless style. There’s a growing feeling among the paddock that the Australian is riding beyond his ability in an effort to impress his Honda paymasters – Miller has a contract with Honda and not LCR – and that race direction needs to take action in a bid to tame his aggression, much like they did with Marco Simoncelli.

Leave a Reply

