Road racing – Hickman takes brilliant podium at Dundrod

bsb-hickman

Lincolnshire’s Peter Hickman took a brilliant podium in the Dundrod 150 Superbike race, bringing the Briggs Equipment Superstock BMW home in a superb third place after a thrilling battle with factory Honda rider Conor Cummins.

The Dundrod 150 Superbike race, a pre-cursor for Saturday’s Ulster Grand Prix, saw the 28-year old complete the first lap around the high-speed 7.4-mile circuit in fifth place and although he was overhauled by Cummins on lap three, he moved up to fourth on that same lap as both Ian Hutchinson and Lee Johnston retired.

For the remainder of the race, Hicky and Cummins were nose to tail and on his fourth lap, he posted a new personal best lap around Dundrod at 132.413mph. Making just his second appearance at the event, this was comfortably inside the Superstock class lap record, and going into the final lap, there was still less than a second between the duo.

With Guy Martin and Bruce Anstey ahead on the road, third place and the final podium spot was up for grabs but race leader Martin crashed out at Ireland’s bringing the race to a premature end. The Tyco BMW rider escaped serious injury but with the result going back to the end of the fifth lap, it meant Peter was awarded third place with Anstey in first and Cummins in second.

Peter Hickman said: “What a mega race, I’m really, really happy. I made a good start to the race and although I was fourth into the first turn, I went round the outside of a couple of people to move up to second. I got pushed back a bit and had a small issue with the tyre spinning on the rim but it didn’t slow me down much and I just got stuck in. It’s only my second time here so I’m still very much learning the circuit and when Conor came by, I opted to sit behind him.”

“We were running at a similar pace but he was faster than me in a couple of places so I was able to learn from him and pick up some good pointers. Obviously the red flags came out on the final lap so we were awarded third but firstly I hope Guy’s ok and will be back on the grid on Saturday. I’m delighted with the podium though and especially with my lap of 132.4mph, which is faster than the Superstock lap record! The bike is absolutely mint so a massive thanks to all the team and sponsors and I’m really looking forward to the Ulster GP races now on Saturday.”

Peter will be back in action on the Briggs Equipment BMW on Saturday in the Ulster GP Superbike and Superstock races. Despite problems in practice, he also hopes to be out on the Trooper MV Agusta in the two Supersport encounters.

Leave a Reply

