WSBK – Rea set to rock at Donington

hi_00_Test_Phillip Island_Rea_GB36262

The sixth round of the WSBK season takes place at Donington Park this coming weekend and it is the only UK round for in-form Kawasaki rider Jonathan Rea.

Rea clicked through the landmark of 150 WSBK race starts at Imola last time out and made it eight out of ten wins for the 2015 season so far. With another double win, his third of the season, his overall tally of wins has risen to 23, making him the eight most successful WSBK rider of all time in terms of race wins.

Approaching his home round Rea is the championship leader with 240 points. The 4.023km Donington layout is one of sharp contrasts, with the majority of the circuit being flowing and rhythmical but the final Melbourne Loop section featuring one chicane, two hairpins, and three areas of heavy braking.

Rea does not feel there will be any additional pressure racing at home and considers that the Ninja ZX-10R will be suited to the challenges that the Leicestershire circuit will throw up.

Rea said: “I think the formula we have found in the working relationship between me and the rest of the team, my crew chief and the engineers at KHI is going very well. We need to continue that way of working because Donington has presented some challenges to me in the past, as a rider.

‘But last year, when I look at the results and watch the races again, it is clear that it is a track that really suits the Ninja ZX-10R, thanks to the stability of the bike in the last sector and the agility and handling of the KRT ZX-10R in the first sector. I expect to be strong but we do not know how strong we can be until Saturday qualifying, after we have completed our preparations for the race.

‘Being a home race does not change how I approach the weekend, or how I ride. I do find it bizarre how some guys at home find that X-factor, but we just treat it like another race. I have a lot of family coming over from Ireland and a lot of my British fans have been telling me on social media that they are coming, so it is going to be amazing to come home and see all my supporters. Especially after the run I have. I would say that the UK is where I have most of my fanbase, so hopefully I can meet a lot of people and make them all proud.”

Leave a Reply

