WSBK – dream return to racing for Giugliano

0522_P05_Giugliano_action

Ducati WSBK Factory rider Davide Giugliano enjoyed a dream return to racing at Imola, landing a third and fourth places in Sundays races.

It was a successful return to racing for the Italian, who had been forced to sit out the start of the season after breaking several vertebrae after a massive highside in pre-season testing at Philip Island.

Giugliano said: “I’m really pleased with the podium, which on a personal level is like a win for me. After the first ‘heat’ I was already tired and the second part of the race was extremely difficult, I couldn’t have done any more.

“I was undecided as to whether to do race 2 at all as the first race really wore me out, but thanks to the Clinica Mobile’s help and the support of all the fans here, I was actually able to complete race 2, in fourth place. It’s been an important weekend for us, and has helped us see that we can fight for the top positions at every round.

“We have a high performing bike and, once I’m back to full fitness, I know we’ll be competitive. Today’s races were not at all easy and the results are thanks particularly to all of the help that the team, my family and Doctor Fabio Catani at the Policlinico di Modena have given me over these months, so I want to thank everyone who has supported me, as well as all the fans who were here watching today.”

Leave a Reply

