WSBK – Ducati duo qualify sixth and seventh

0099_P02_Bayliss_action

Ducati superbike riders Chaz Davies and Troy Bayliss enjoyed a solid qualifying session during  today’s Superpole at the Chang International Circuit in Thailand, finishing in sixth and seventh places respectively.

This morning’s final timed practice session took place in surprisingly wet conditions, but as qualification for Superpole was established by times set yesterday in dry conditions, both Davies and Bayliss qualified directly for Superpole 2, in third and seventh place respectively.

Superpole 2 was a frantic affair as with the risk of rain looming over the pits, almost all riders were straight back out on track with the qualifying tyre. Davies completed a very fast first lap, in 1’34.087, followed by a second lap that was another three thousandths of a second quicker. However, a 1’34.084 saw the Welshman take sixth position. His team-mate Corser only made one flying lap with the qualifier (1’34.334), but that was still good enough to place him in overall seventh position.

Davies said he had suffered with froth end problems on his Panigale R. He said: “This weekend’s not turning out to be an easy one for us but we won’t stop trying. Yesterday I was missing feeling at the front and although we’ve made some changes today I know we’re still having some issues. It’s difficult to be consistent as the front is a bit nervous and that’s all it takes, a small mistake, to lose precious tenths. We’ll continue to work tomorrow and we have a few things to try in warm-up – I hope we can come up with something. I’ll do my best, also because, as we know, anything can happen come race day…”

His team-mate Corser was pleased with his progress as he continues to adapt to the bike, filling in as he is for the injured Davide Giugliano. He said: “I’m reasonably happy, and think I’m more or less where I thought I’d be on the qualifying tyre, but I’d have liked to do a little more in the free practice earlier. In terms of race pace I don’t think we’re doing too badly but I know tomorrow’s races will be tough. We’re still missing a little acceleration but I know we’ve worked in the right direction this weekend. We’ll see if we can find a little more in warm-up tomorrow and then I hope to be able to score two reasonable results…”

2 comments

Leave a Reply

