MotoGP – Melandri ready to race

01 Aprilia MotoGP

Aprilia MotoGP rider Marco Melandri insists he is motivated and wants to be in MotoGP, despite his recent poor showing in pre-season testing.

The Italian, who propped up the standings at Sepang with a lacklustre performance, took to social media to say he simply ‘couldn’t ride the bike’ immediately after the pre-season tests, but has apparently rediscovered his mojo as the GP team launched its 2015 bike.

At the bike’s launch he said: “Following Aprilia in its ambitious return to MotoGP is a brave choice, especially after the decision to move the plans up. I am very motivated. I am confident and I know what this racing department is capable of, although that doesn’t change the difficulties that we will inevitably have to face. There are also some advantages, like being able to “tailor” myself to a bike, something that I have never been able to do until now in my career, helping the guys in the development process and giving them my indications. For now it is just a matter of acquiring a feeling with the bike-tyre package, much different than the one I used last year. We have a long road ahead of us, but I believe that with patience and determination we’ll be able to achieve a good level, realistically in the second half of the season.”

Leave a Reply

